MoviesST ExclusivesTV Shows

Every Marvel Announcement at D23 Expo

Following Marvel Studios’ big announcements at San Diego Comic-Con in July, Marvel has revealed more information about its ever-expanding cinematic universe at D23 Expo. Kevin Feige, the head of Marvel Studios, assured fans that his team is working on a strategy for the next 10 years of the Marvel Cinematic Universe and that they intend to add the Fantastic Four, X-Men, and Deadpool to the roster of well-known Marvel characters.

Since there is a lot to catch up on, here is everything that was revealed for Marvel at the D23 Expo:

Werewolf by Night

Marvel announced its first Halloween Special titled Werewolf by Night, which will debut on Disney+ in October. The movie, which was totally shot in black and white, is reminiscent of The Twilight Zone. Werewolf by Night stars Gael Garcia Bernal and Laura Donnelly.

Black Panther: Wakanda Forever – November 11, 2022

Director Ryan Coogler shared some footage of the upcoming film which revealed Queen Ramonda reprimanding the UN for attempting to take vibranium from Wakanda after T’Challa’s death. We got a glimpse of Dora Milaje’s strength and prepared the audience for an epic battle with Namor and the Atlanteans. The film will mark the debut of Namor (Tenoch Huerta) and Riri Williams (Dominique Thorne). 

Ant-Man and The Wasp: Quantumania – February 17, 2023

Phase 5 of the Marvel Cinematic Universe will kick off with Ant-Man and the Wasp: Quantumania. Jonathan Majors will appear in Quantumania as the villain Kang, who will play a significant role in the subsequent phases of the franchise, which will conclude with Avengers: The Kang Dynasty (2025).

Secret Invasion – Spring 2023

Secret Invasion, a Disney+ series will focus on a group of shape-shifting aliens called Skrulls, that has invaded every sphere of Earthly existence. The Skrulls first appeared in the ’90s-set 2018 film, Captain Marvel. The star-studded cast includes Samuel L. Jackson, Olivia Colman, Don Cheadle, Martin Freeman, Kingsley Ben-Adir, Emilia Clarke, and Cobie Smulders. Secret Invasion will premiere in early 2023.

Echo – Summer 2023

Alaqua Cox returns as the title character after being introduced in Hawkeye. American Sign Language will be extensively used in the series since it features a deaf female protagonist. The footage confirmed Vincent D’Onofrio’s return as King Pin, though he has an eye patch now. 

Loki Season 2 – Summer 2023

The first footage of Loki season 2 was revealed behind-closed doors and from the preview, it seems this time we can expect even more mayhem. Tom Hiddleston, Sophia Di Martino, Owen Wilson, and Gugu Mbatha-Raw will reprise their roles as Loki, Sylvie, Mobius M. Mobius, and Ravonna Renslayer respectively. Ke Huy Quan from Everything, Everywhere, All At Once will be joining the cast.

The Marvels – July 28, 2023

The Marvels, a sequel to Captain Marvel (2019) will see Brie Larson, Iman Vellani and  Teyonah Parris return as Carol Danvers, Kamala Khan and Monica Rambeau respectively. From the footage, it seems that their powers are entangled which leads to the three heroes on a quest to work together and untangle themselves.

Ironheart – Fall 2023

In the Black Panther: Wakanda Forever trailer, Riri Williams was briefly visible to viewers, with Marvel also sharing a sneak preview of her upcoming series Ironheart. Kevin Feige hinted that the series will concentrate on the intersection of magic and technology. We even saw glimpses of Riri constructing pieces of the Ironheart armour. Shea Couleé from Drag Race will have an undefined role with Anthony Ramos in the role of the Hood.

Armour Wars

Armour Wars will continue the story that started with Secret Invasion with James Rhodey receiving several brand-new armour suits in the War Machine style. With Don Cheadle reprising his role, Rhodey must face what happens when Tony Stark’s tech falls into the wrong hands.

Daredevil: Born Again – Spring 2024

Daredevil: Born Again will see Charlie Cox and Vincent D’Onofrio return as Daredevil and Kingpin respectively. The eighteen-episode series will be streaming weekly on Disney+ from Spring 2024. 

Captain America: New World Order – May 3, 2024

Captain America: New World Order, will be the first Captain America movie to star Anthony Mackie as Captain America. The movie will continue after the events of The Falcon and The Winter Soldier. 
The Leader, played by Tim Blake Nelson, who was last seen in the 2008 film Incredible Hulk will return and likely face off against Sam Wilson. Additionally, Joaquin Torres and Isaiah Bradley from The Falcon and the Winter Soldier will return, with Israeli superhero Sabra played by Shira Haas making her debut in the Marvel Cinematic Universe.

Thunderbolts – July 26, 2024

Thunderbolts, a villainous squad similar to the Suicide Squad from DC Comics is making its way to the Marvel Cinematic Universe. The cast announcement at D23 includes Julia Louis-Dreyfus as Valentina Allegra de Fontaine, David Harbour as Red Guardian, Hannah John-Kamen as Ghost, Olga Kurylenko as Taskmaster, Wyatt Russel as John Walker aka U.S. Agent, Florence Pugh as Yelena Belova and Sebastian Stan as the Winter Soldier.

Fantastic 4 – November 8, 2024

WandaVision filmmaker Matt Shakman will serve as the official director of the MCU’s Fantastic Four feature film.